Nothing Is Impossible

Combining two themes from previous posts – street plants and graffiti – here is my contribution to Loose and Leafy’s linkbox page: Street Plant Bloggers.

audrey hepburn weedsThis artwork is to be found on the side of a pub in Highgate, but recently has often been hidden by a board left resting against the wall.  On my way to a job last week and with a few more stops before my destination, I spotted that the board wasn’t there for a change.  I  jumped to get  off the bus to take a photo of the painting with the weed I knew to be growing at the foot of both the wall and Audrey Hepburn.

The urban wild plant in question is, I believe, Greater Celandine (Chelidonium majus). To confirm my suspicions, I could’ve broken off a piece of the plant to see if it dribbled latex, typical of the Poppy family to which it belongs. But I didn’t think of it – I was in a a rush, remember…  Traditionally, its latex has been used to remove warts, and the plant was popular  in cottage physick gardens. It’s not a weed I spy very much. Others nearby include Dandelion. At the moment, with cooling temperatures and daylight hours shortening, Chickweed is germinating, preferring these conditions to those of high summer. There’s lots of it about, fuzzing up pavement cracks and edges.

For more posts on pavement plants, go to looseandleafy.blogspot.co.uk

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Nothing Is Impossible

  1. HI Maria. Sorry you’re having trouble with the link box. This is what you do. Click on the title of this post ‘Nothing is Impossible’. In the top bar you’ll see this https://leafencounter.wordpress.com/2014/09/21/nothing-is-impossible/ That is what you copy and paste where it says ‘Your URL’ below where you put your name.

    Good luck!

    Like

  2. Good title in encouraging us that your links will eventually work in the Loose and Leafy box. For some reason, %27 is appearing in front of the link and that stops it working. Have no idea where it’s coming from. If you see it in what you copy and paste next time, delete the %27 and see if it then works. In the meantime, I’ll replace the link that’s there so people can find your post!

    Like

  3. I love this image, and I too would have jumped of the bus to take a photo, so many people walk round with their eyes closed…
    Amanda xx

    Like

    • leafencounterwp

      …or with their eyes fixed firmly on a gadget, and ears plugged in likewise! Glad you like the pic – my photography skills are a bit hit’n’miss, and my camera isn’t top-notch, so amazing close-ups etc are beyond me.
      Maria

      Like

Leave a Reply

