The Early Bird…

…catches the worm, so the saying goes. Well, there must be a bird very eager to nab a worm because, for nearly a month now, I’ve heard a blackbird singing in the middle of the night.

I first noticed it when I fell asleep on the sofa watching TV. When I finally turned in at 3am, I heard a blackbird tuning up! On subsequent occasions, I’ve heard it warbling away when I went to bed not quite so late (between 1 and 2.30am) In the past two weeks, I’ve even heard it trilling before midnight!

There is a lot of light pollution where I live, but I’ve never noticed this behaviour before. Perhaps this bird is confused by the light combined with the mild weather, feeling that spring is on its way even though midwinter is still (technically) upon us. Has anyone else noticed this behaviour?

100_1992

Blackbird eyeing up rowan berries

Okay, so the picture of a blackbird was taken in summer, and not a worm in sight, just lots of rowan berries. But it leads me to say I’ve spotted lots of birds at the berries in the wilderness beyond my fire escape. The robins have been scoffing the berries of Parthenocissus tricuspidata, (Boston Ivy) whilst blackbirds, greenfinches and wood pigeons have all been partaking of the Pyracantha berries.

IMG_1847

Greenfinch eating Pyracantha berries

The Mahonia is transitioning from bright yellow flowers to blue-black berries, and earlier this year, I saw a blackcap stuffing its face on the fruits. More unusually, I’d spotted a blackcap slurping at the nectar of the flowers back in February. At least, that’s what I think it was doing..

IMG_0722

Blackcap drinking from a flower?

All that’s left to say is Happy New Year, one and all, and best wishes for 2016.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Early Bird…

  1. There is a lot of light pollution in the front here, but in the back we have woods and watching the fireflies is wonderful. Of course they like many things are on the decrease and they think it is due to light pollution making it hard to see the mating lights..Michelle

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Big Garden Birdwatch | Leaf Encounter

Leave a Reply

