Tim and Tom

The end of October brought with it my last tomato harvest of the year. The experiment with food-growing-in-shade continues, and I decided to give different varieties of dwarf tomatoes a whirl to see how they fared in four hours of daily sunshine. Having had success with ‘Whippersnapper’ (an ex commercial variety from the Heritage Seed Library) I was curious about more readily available tomatoes, and chose ‘Red Tumbling Tom’, ‘Balconi Yellow’, and ‘Tiny Tim’.

img_2196

Tomato ‘Balconi Yellow’ with Lobelia in self-watering hanging basket

The results were skewed by the fact that I grew ‘Tumbling Tom’ and ‘Balconi Yellow’ from seed, but I bought ‘Tiny Tim’ in the form of plug plants because I didn’t spot these available as seed. By far the most prolific of these varieties was ‘Tumbling Tom’ which I grew in the top of hanging flower bags with Lobelia and Alyssum trailing down the sides. However, I preferred the flavour of ‘Balconi Yellow’ (another tumbling type). These were grown in a self-watering hanging basket with Lobelia. Notably, this gave half the harvest of ‘Tumbling Tom’. As for ‘Tiny Tim’ – productivity was okay but comparison with the other two varieties was difficult because it was planted out about a month later. The flavour? Hm.. well, that was ordinary.

Next year, I think I will try the yellow version of ‘Tumbling Tom’. I also really want to grow black cherry tomatoes but can only find tall versions, so I fancy having a go at grafting them onto dwarf rootstocks. I admit to being a bit of a geek, so I’m ridiculously excited at the idea!

Leave a comment

Filed under Five Feet of Landing

Leave a Reply

